The Beginning of a Juicing Era

I’m beginning a 2-week juicing cleanse, and I’m sure the majority of the people I know are really confused as to why anyone would want to do that. So, here’s the expert reasoning followed by mine:

“[Juicing is] the perfect way to power up your system using plant-based energy to help you lose weight, get clear skin, increase your energy levels and think more clearly. When you consume only juice, your system is flooded with an abundance of vitamins, minerals and phytonutrients that help your body stay strong and fight disease.”

In other words, I’m doing this to lose weight, be healthy, sharpen my mind, change the way I feel and to stop taking in foods and drinks I’m addicted to that aren’t doing anything for my body except hurting it.

Most people will never want or choose to understand why and how what they’re eating is so bad for them, and that’s fine. I use to be one of those people, but if you really want to put it in perspective and understand what’s actually going on in the food and health world, I’d suggest watching the documentaries listed below (in that order). It made me change my mind.

1. Forks Over Knives

2. Foodmatters

3. Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead

Another question you probably have is “how can anyone feel full or possibly take in enough nutrients by drinking liquids all day?” The answer is simple. Imagine trying to eat a stock of celery, 2 apples, 1 lemon, 1 kiwi and an entire cucumber in one sitting, seems difficult. However, juicing gets all that food and nutrients into an easily drinkable glass 4-6 times a day. Probably more health in one glass than your body’s taken in in an entire week.

From what I can gather, it won’t be easy the first few days, but after the body cleanses and adjusts, it should only get better. I’ll let you know.

So, here I go!

Day 1:

Weight – 190 lbs

Mood – Normal

Dinner – 1 cucumber, 1 cup spinach, 1 cup parsley, 1 celery stock, 1/2 peeled lemon

IMG_2592

Leave a Reply

