Day 26 of Countdown to Oliver: A Month of Freezer Meals

With my first pregnancy, I was lucky to be naive. I was also lucky to have so many family members close by who made us food and helped me with day-to-day life with a newborn. This time around, knowing how truly exhausting newborns can be, I’m doing everything to prepare ahead of time, making it possible to focus on the newborn, the toddler, and sleep.

One thing that always ends up taking a lot of time and effort is making meals throughout the day, and I mean real, healthy meals. The kind of meals a woman should be eating after having a baby (or in general), not frozen pizzas and fast food! So, I decided to prep a month’s worth of homemade freezer meals for when the newborn arrives and the last thing anyone wants to do in our house is cook.

I was hoping to get this all done today, day 26 of the countdown, but after a lazy Sunday morning followed by grocery shopping on steroids, I’m roughly 1/3 of the way there with my freezer meal prep and WILL finish in the next day or two. I’ll also update this post with photos and more experiences as I go.

My advice to anyone wanting to make a month’s worth of freezer meals would be to have someone watch/take the kids (if any), shop bright and early in the morning, start with a clean kitchen and cook all day. If that doesn’t sound appealing or possible, you can do what I’ve ended up having to do and make a few freezer meals a day until you’re stock-piled up!

Here are the wonderful sites I used for my month of freezer meals:

  • Making 50 Freezer Meals in One Day – It’s amazing, and I used every recipe except one! However, keep in mind each recipe listed is actually for one meal that feeds roughly 6 people. So, if it says “Recipe (4)”, you must multiple the ingredients by 4 to make 4 portions. If you’re not feeding 6 people at each meal, you’ll also want to take that into account; for example, we have 3 people in our family, so each of her portions were actually 2 portions for us, meaning I would only have to multiple the ingredients by 2 instead of 4 to get 4 portions for my family of 3. So, I was easily able to modify the different portions to fit our family, personally, using all of her recipes.
  • A Month of Freezer Meals in One Afternoon – I also used a couple freezer meals from here. Her recipe layout is simpler and includes a grocery list, which is SO nice, but for my personal taste, I liked the majority of the meals from the first site better. Both sites have great ideas and recipes; it really just depends on what you or your family prefers for your freezer meal list!

Update:
Freezer Meal CollageIt took us two more days to finish from the first day that we started. It definitely would’ve been possible to knock it all out in one day, but my energy level is not 100%, so meh. It was better for me to get half of it done the first day and work in the rest of the freezer meal prep during dinner meals two days after. The above picture is some of the other items we made along with what our freezer looked like when we were done (there are a couple frozen items that aren’t part of the freezer meals in there as well).

The Countdown List:

1. Create the segment “Countdown to Oliver” and make list
2. Make a hospital bag
3. Create a baby registry
4. Prepare the baby’s space
5. Set-up pediatrician visits and appointments
6. Install the carseat
7. Have a pampering day
8. Prepare birthing plan
9. Wash shower curtains, rugs and sheets
10. *Reader’s idea*
11. Finish an art project
12. Finish a book
13. Create an exercise regimen for the final 4 weeks
14. Take a sewing class and make something for the newest babe
15. Have a special mom and daughter day with Ella
16. (Re)organize files and paperwork
17. Finalize plans with the OB
18. Prepare for visiting family
19. Cleaning day
20. *Reader’s idea*
21. Meal prep (frozen meals)
22. Write a letter to the new baby
23. Prepare announcements to send out after birth
24. Date night
25. Invest in post baby clothes
26. Clean pumping and feeding items
27. Take a class
28. Clean the carpets and floors
29. Stock up on toiletries, diapers and groceries
30. *Reader’s idea*

6 thoughts on “Day 26 of Countdown to Oliver: A Month of Freezer Meals

  1. Yeay – you did it!! Congratulations on making so many meals in one day! That must feel so great having those in your freezer. Thanks for using and sharing my freezer meals and congrats on the upcoming baby!

  2. Great idea! I’m going to check out these sites for some ideas for now (and another baby we hope to try for before too long). I didn’t do this all out during either of my pregnancies so far. With my first, I did manage to double or triple alot of things I was cooking for meals during the last two or three months. I’d freeze the extra meal or two, labeled for later use. That came in really handy after we brought out little one home, since I had probably about 10 dinners already made up. With my second, I knew better, but was on bedrest and didn’t do diddlysquat. I’m hoping the next time around I’ll be better prepared, like you’re doing. 🙂

    • Thanks!

      We definitely didn’t think to do anything past preparing for birth and setting up the nursery for our first, but we were also lucky to have family members who hooked us up with some hot and frozen meals :).

      Now, we’re hours away from our family, so it was definitely a must to prepare as much as possible beforehand. My goal is to only have to focus on the little ones and endure the lack of sleep, nothing else!

  3. Oh, great resource! I think I’m done with pregnancies, but this would definitely help with busy days and when I don’t feel like using any brain power to figure out what to cook for dinner. By the way, thanks for looking me up through Atlanta Mom of Three’s blog party!

    • Yes! I think I’ll do this anytime I have a time-consuming event coming up. I actually finished the last 2 recipes tonight, and although it took all the energy I had left, it’ll definitely be worth it. It took me about 3 days altogether, making half the recipes 1 evening and finishing a couple recipes a night during dinner time for the last 2 days.

      Thanks for looking me up too!

Leave a Reply

