100 Days of Healthy: Day 5

H2O

This is my weekly update on the first item on my #100DaysOfHealthy list. For those who haven’t seen the first post, I have a list containing 11 items, and I plan to start each item on a new week and report back the changes I see throughout that week. Once I start an item on the list, I will continue it until the 100 days is over. Hopefully it will become a lifestyle change if I think it’s worthy.

My first item on the list was “1. Drink the correct amount of water daily, for my weight and conditions using the Hydration Calculator.”

So far, I don’t have too many changes to report, but I can tell that little things are starting to happen:

  1. I noticed the first 2-3 days I was actually more tired (or drained feeling) and think drinking the correct amount of water might have been flushing my system at first (which is obviously a good thing after the toxins are flushed out). The tiredness felt like the same tiredness I’ve experienced doing cleanses just not as drastic.
  2. My energy level now is slightly stronger than before I started. And saying I have energy at all is saying something considering I have a newborn.
  3. I’m not as hungry or prone to snacking as I was before.
  4. I’m more alert in general. I notice things better, I remember things easier, and I seem to get more done, efficiently, overall.

A while back I found an article about a woman who didn’t change anything else except drinking the correct amount of water daily to see how it would actually affect her after four weeks. The changes she reported are pretty awesome considering she didn’t eat better or even workout but still experienced some pretty legitimate results, most of which after just a couple weeks. Here’s the article: Drinking three litres of water a day… and it’s definitely worth a read.

#100DaysOfHealthy
1. Drink the correct amount of water daily, for my weight and conditions using the Hydration Calculator.
2. Cut out sugar–all added sugar, some natural, plus unhealthy carbs in general–with help from 20 Ways to Get Sugar Out of Your Life.
3. Eat 5 servings of vegetables a day
4. Go to the chiropractor bi-weekly
5. Breastfeed (obviously not an option for those who aren’t new moms)
6. Take supplements (vitamins)–healthy, correctly measured, real (not artificial) supplements that my body can actually process–I use Standard Process.
7. Oil pulling–honestly just thought it was something I’d try because what people say about it interests me. Good article on it, but maybe I can have some better feedback as to how it goes.
8. Bye-bye caffeine–this one pains me the most, because coffee, I love you. What can I say though, caffeine isn’t good for you and your body can actually become addicted and start to depend on it.
9. Eat only lean meats
10. Light exercise at least 20 minutes a day–and by light, I mean stretching, simple yoga poses, a long walk, etc.
11. Make and drink healthy smoothies/juices–this is a guide I want to go by for health-filled smoothies throughout the next 100 days: Green Smoothies.

2 thoughts on “100 Days of Healthy: Day 5

  1. Great work! I love drinking water (and wine, but on a day to day basis water it is haha). It’s amazing the affects that drinking enough water can have on your body and life!

    • I would SO much rather drink wine :). And it is truly amazing how drinking the right amount of water really boosts you up. I drink a good amount of water normally but have never actually made sure I’m drinking the right amount every day. Definitely makes a difference!

Leave a Reply

