100 Days of Healthy: Day 65

For those who haven’t seen my original post on #100DaysOfHealthy, I have a list containing 11 items, and I plan to start each item on a new week and report back the changes I see throughout that week. Once I start an item on the list, I will continue it until the 100 days is over. Hopefully each item will become a lifestyle change if I think it’s worthy.

Last week, I tackled two items in one: running/light exercise (item #10) and oil pulling (item #7). I explain why I decided to do two in one week here. It went pretty well. I’d gone back and forth with cutting out sugar, but also got that back down as well last week. So, with all of those starting in one week, it’s an understatement to say I was exhausted most of the week. Monday evening through Tuesday afternoon I had a migraine from, I believe, cutting out sugar completely again. I’ve also read that oil pulling gets toxins out of the body and can cause headaches at first too. So, my running was minimal but there.

Now that the new week has started, I’m feeling 10x better. I’ve dropped seven pounds. My run today went better than any of my runs this week. I think I’ve found a good balance. I’ve also decided to add in low fructose fruits such as raspberries, grapefruit and kiwi because having no starches, breads, pastas and fruits as part of my no sugar intake (along with no added-sugar or processed foods) seemed to be making me overly exhausted. Your body needs sugar for energy in some form.

My oil pulling experience:

  • I swished around coconut oil for 20 minutes each morning on an empty stomach, spit it into a trash can (so it doesn’t harden in the sink drains) and rinsed with salt water
  • The first couple days it was rough and I wanted to spit out the coconut oil the whole time–the texture was not enjoyable
  • By the fourth or fifth day, it was fine. I could continue on with my morning for those 20 min without it bothering me
  • It also seems like my teeth are slightly whiter just in the week I’ve been doing it

This week is the beginning of no caffeine. It shouldn’t be too rough considering I haven’t really been drinking caffeine lately anyway. I find with this 100 days of healthy that the further I get into it the more I just naturally start to do these things for myself, and with ease. It doesn’t seem like as much of a struggle as it would’ve been 8 weeks ago. It’s nice to finally feel like my body and mind want to work towards being healthy instead of feeling like I have to force myself to do the healthy thing.

#100DaysOfHealthy
1. Drink the correct amount of water daily 
2. Cut out sugar
3. Eat 5 servings of vegetables a day
4. Go to the chiropractor bi-weekly
5. Breastfeed
6. Take supplements
7. Oil pulling
8. Bye-bye caffeine
9. Eat only lean meats
10. Light exercise at least 20 minutes a day
11. Make and drink healthy smoothies/juices

 

One thought on “100 Days of Healthy: Day 65

Leave a Reply

