Buzzfeed’s #Brelfie Post

This week, Homemade Experience was featured in a Buzzfeed post, and it’s just a small piece of a huge movement.

This post is important, and it’s pretty simple why. Whether bottle or breast, feeding your baby is natural and it’s beautiful–let’s make it normal.

Brelfie

Edit: Since I’ve received so much positive feedback on this post and so many wonderful moms who are passionate about normalizing breastfeeding, I’d like to give moms the option to send me their favorite breastfeeding photos: homemadeexperience@gmail.com. I’ll publish them much like all the other articles cycling around promoting #Brelfie.

#Brelfie

Brooke Caputo of Does This Couch Make Me Look Fat sharing her lovely breastfeeding time.

 

13 thoughts on “Buzzfeed’s #Brelfie Post

  1. I have a few breast feeding photos. A photographer that came to our home to photograph our daughter was she was newborn took some and I allowed them to be showcased on a breast feeding website. I have no shame about it. Breast feeding is beautiful. People need to let go of their own insecurities and get over it. Why should it make you uncomfortable to watch a mother feeding. It’s not your body.

  2. Way to go! I’ve gotten upset before at the lack of breastfeeding photos I have of my son…and kind of the lack of how little mommy is in the early photos at all! I think it’s definitely important for us to capture not just moments from our point of view, but including US in the memories of photos. Whether if it is of mom holding a bottle or using her breasts. 🙂

    • I understand. I have no photos of me feeding my first (breast or bottle) and am kicking myself for it now! So true.

      Since I’ve received so much positive feedback on this post and so many wonderful moms who are passionate about normalizing breastfeeding, I’m going to add to this post and make it like many of the others (like Buzzfeed’s) cycling around. If you want to be included, feel free to send your favorite breastfeeding photo to homemadeexperience@gmail.com!

  3. I have a few photos I took of my babies while breastfeeding, but most people don’t know that’s what they were doing. One was when my son was in his first Halloween costume- as a frog to his sister’s princess- and when I showed it to my daughter again recently, she was like “Awwwww….Mommy, you were nursing my handsome frog prince brudder!!”. LOL

    • That’s awesome! I love the photos where people are like, “Wait, is she breastfeeding?”

      Since I’ve received so much positive feedback on this post and so many wonderful moms who are passionate about normalizing breastfeeding, I’m going to add to this post and make it like many of the others (like Buzzfeed’s) cycling around. If you want, feel free to send your breastfeeding photo to homemadeexperience@gmail.com and I can feature it too!

  4. I tried to take a picture last night, because my son had his hand on my breast, but his pinky finger was up! it made me laugh so hard, but when he saw me hold up the phone, he unlatched and gave a huge smile!!!!!
    Congrats on buzzfeed, that’s awesome!

  5. I love this so much. I’ve had the wonderful experience of breastfeeding my four babies. I am pregnant again and it is one of the things I’m most looking forward to. Love the #brelfies

Leave a Reply

